corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Error Code On Tech1


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Error Code On Tech1
iceman
Member

Registered: 22nd Jul 00
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 14:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I had the corsa Tech1'd a couple of days ago and it come up with 2 faults
1) Knock sensor open circuit
2) Qdm something ( I cant remember what )
I've put on a new knock sensor but the engine management light is still on and the car wont rev about 5k, it feels like its hitting the limiter. I've given it a full service ( Plugs, oil, filter,air filter, fuel filter)
Can anyone help?
Stu
J100RSA
Member

Registered: 4th Mar 01
Location: Roberttown, West Yorkshire
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 14:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

what engine stu??
iceman
Member

Registered: 22nd Jul 00
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 14:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

x14xe corsa
bubble
Member

Registered: 24th Jan 04
Location: Darwin, NT Australia.
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 16:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

qdm means Quad Driver Module. normally come up when thinks car is extremely low on oil. if knock sensor is open circuit then it will throw up QDM, knock sensor is used to detect low oil level when the engine knocks.
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 17:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

in my experience the QDM fault is a knackered ecu. Had this twice, swopped ecu's and it was fine.
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 17:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by bubblevaux
qdm means Quad Driver Module. normally come up when thinks car is extremely low on oil. if knock sensor is open circuit then it will throw up QDM, knock sensor is used to detect low oil level when the engine knocks.


the knock sensor is used to detect engine knock or 'pre-ignition' and adjusts the ignition timing to suit. it has no connection to low oil levels
iceman
Member

Registered: 22nd Jul 00
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 17:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ive changed the knock sensor for a brand new 1

What do you rekonmend i do next? change the ecu?
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 17:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

knocksensor is a shocker for goin wrong, i remember my engine swap - i had exactly same thing ... But figured out it was a c16xe wiring loom not x

Ye jus change the ecu
iceman
Member

Registered: 22nd Jul 00
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 17:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

anyone got 1 i could try pls
broster
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 6th Dec 02
Location: Drives: E39
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 18:04   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Dave A
quote:
Originally posted by bubblevaux
qdm means Quad Driver Module. normally come up when thinks car is extremely low on oil. if knock sensor is open circuit then it will throw up QDM, knock sensor is used to detect low oil level when the engine knocks.


the knock sensor is used to detect engine knock or 'pre-ignition' and adjusts the ignition timing to suit. it has no connection to low oil levels


detects noise, if its low on oil engine will get noisey lol
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 18:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

U wanna give cos vaux a ring ... if ur close to it ??

Thats an awsome place for ECU's and the like, ive got one spare .. but i jus relised urs is 2L
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 20:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by broster
quote:
Originally posted by Dave A
quote:
Originally posted by bubblevaux
qdm means Quad Driver Module. normally come up when thinks car is extremely low on oil. if knock sensor is open circuit then it will throw up QDM, knock sensor is used to detect low oil level when the engine knocks.


the knock sensor is used to detect engine knock or 'pre-ignition' and adjusts the ignition timing to suit. it has no connection to low oil levels


detects noise, if its low on oil engine will get noisey lol


detects vibrations actually

anyway if it was low enough on oil to start knocking then the engine is probably knackered.
iceman
Member

Registered: 22nd Jul 00
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 21:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

not low on oil the car has just been serviced
iceman
Member

Registered: 22nd Jul 00
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
10th Aug 06 at 21:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

its not knocking the engine is sweet
bubble
Member

Registered: 24th Jan 04
Location: Darwin, NT Australia.
User status: Offline
11th Aug 06 at 16:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Dave A
quote:
Originally posted by bubblevaux
qdm means Quad Driver Module. normally come up when thinks car is extremely low on oil. if knock sensor is open circuit then it will throw up QDM, knock sensor is used to detect low oil level when the engine knocks.


the knock sensor is used to detect engine knock or 'pre-ignition' and adjusts the ignition timing to suit. it has no connection to low oil levels


er yeah......and engines knock to low oil level

most of the eml jobs at work are z16se astra's showing knock control circuit due to low oil level.
Joe
Member

Registered: 20th Jun 04
Location: Hesketh Bank, Lancashire
User status: Offline
11th Aug 06 at 16:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yeah we have alot of that too, usually z16xe's with about 1 litre of oil left.
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
11th Aug 06 at 17:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

but an engine wont knock if theres oil in it.

for an engine to knock because of low oil it would need to be so low that the oil pickup is sucking air. but by that time the oil pressure light would be on.
iceman
Member

Registered: 22nd Jul 00
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
15th Aug 06 at 11:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

the engines fine the knock sensor was knackered hense why it was bring up an open circut its the qdm error code that is worrying me as the car wont rev over 4900

[Edited on 15-08-2006 by iceman]
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
15th Aug 06 at 12:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

qdm = dead ecu IMO
iceman
Member

Registered: 22nd Jul 00
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
15th Aug 06 at 12:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

oh if the ecu was dead the car shouldnt run should it?
csweatherston
Member

Registered: 16th Jan 06
Location: Devon
User status: Offline
15th Aug 06 at 12:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i had this problem......qdm - then all of a suddon it cleared itself lol

new ecu from vaux was 400ish iirc

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Anybody who knows PHP groom Geek Day 19 644
17th Aug 03 at 23:30
by Ian
 
crankshaft sensor corsa_godfather Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 8 579
14th Feb 04 at 23:40
by Wolf In Welsh Clothing
 
attempting to do the paperclip test gsi-gaz Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 10 1046
24th Mar 04 at 19:15
by flameredcorsab
 
Error Code help please!! AdiSRI Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 5 462
4th Feb 05 at 08:00
by AdiSRI
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Error Code On Tech1 27 database queries in 0.0234890 seconds