corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Oooops!


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Oooops!
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
14th Jul 06 at 23:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Turns out my old other board was probably in perfect working order

There was a slight problem I over looked. Compatibility. I jus found out Maxtor HDD's don't work too well with nVidia chipset drivers. So when I tested the HDD's on another machine there were no problems, but now when I plug them into my new mobo they don't work

Not sure what to do now Just searching around on the web to see if anyone has a fix.
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
14th Jul 06 at 23:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ebay them and get seagates

Though im curious about that as i have a nvidia chipset here running a maxtor drive, seems to ok

There isnt any bios updates for the mobo? remember you saying it wouldn't boot properly so cant recommend updating your SATA/IDE windows drivers - think you're only left with the option up tbh
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
14th Jul 06 at 23:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It just wont detect the HDD's at all when in RAID mode. When not in RAID mode it detects the HDD's, but it still seemed a bit ropey. I think I'll return the HDD's now and get something different.

Maxtor owns Seagate though, or vice versa. Could be an issue.

I have seen people recomend updating the chipset drivers. The HDD firmware and all sorts. No idea how to do any of that though, and I can't find any of the things people are talking about other than the chipset drivers, though I can;t find any instructions on how to install them
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
14th Jul 06 at 23:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

chipset drives under windows? would have thought it would be a problem with the nvidia's (or is it Silicon Image as they do the raid chipset on mine) chipset firmware.
I believe you can update Silicon Image chipset stuff (if you have it onboard) look at their website though.

You looked on nvidias website - might be some updated chipset/IDE drivers?

Still though, seems a lot of hassle to get some drives to work

p.s - Seagate own Maxtor now, but there still two seperate companies and have different plants (from what i gather now)...
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
14th Jul 06 at 23:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Think I might end up replacing the disks, though I have heard that they work oin SATA 1 mode, but what was the point in buying these disks if not to have them running at top speed?

From what I have read it's an incompatibility between the nforce 4 firmware and the Maxtor disks... Annoying
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 00:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

They don't work in 1.5 gb/s mode... Just tested...

Feck.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 05:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Told you ebuyer don't check returns
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 07:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yep... Got to try and wangle getting different HDD's off them now though
Reedy
Member

Registered: 11th Apr 04
Location: Hammersmith
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 08:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

get some seagate raptors hehe, very nice drives.
Russ
Member

Registered: 14th Mar 04
Location: Armchair
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 12:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Reedy
get some seagate raptors hehe, very nice drives.
and get a left handed screwdriver to tighten them up with?
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 13:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Russ
quote:
Originally posted by Reedy
get some seagate raptors hehe, very nice drives.
and get a left handed screwdriver to tighten them up with?


eh?

Seagate own Maxtor, so Seagate Raptors is correct

oh wells ed, it sounds mullered - see if you can get ebuyer to take them back and replace them with seagates (a bit quieter but run a lot better personally)
Russ
Member

Registered: 14th Mar 04
Location: Armchair
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 14:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

western digital make raptors?
Russ
Member

Registered: 14th Mar 04
Location: Armchair
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 14:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

unless he means cheetah
Reedy
Member

Registered: 11th Apr 04
Location: Hammersmith
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 14:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Russ
western digital make raptors?


dammit i meant the cheetah. I always mix them up,
Reedy
Member

Registered: 11th Apr 04
Location: Hammersmith
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 14:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

or he could just get some Western Digital Raptors.
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 15:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Russ
western digital make raptors?


good point, i stand corrected

had a blonde moment thinking that maxtor made raptors
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 17:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'm going to speak to them on Monday about it. The disks are alomost un-used as they are formated
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 17:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Found some new firmware for the HDD's... Apparently it will fix them I live and hope at least
Reedy
Member

Registered: 11th Apr 04
Location: Hammersmith
User status: Offline
15th Jul 06 at 18:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by ed
Found some new firmware for the HDD's... Apparently it will fix them I live and hope at least


fix them or kill them, what have you to loose
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
16th Jul 06 at 12:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Meh, they ar still under warrenty and you have to ask Maxtor for the firmware update. They send it to you depending on if you need it or not. If they break I send them back to ebuyer
DarkBahamut
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 06
Location: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
16th Jul 06 at 17:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Im sure i had this problem too. A system i built for my Aunt used an nvidia chipset and the hard drive just wouldnt work right at all, im sure this was also a Maxtor hard drive (the first and last ill ever use). After RMAing the drive about 3 times to overclocks (where i ordered it from) with the same problem of being unable to install an OS they found out the drive and board simply didnt work together. They sent me a different make and it worked great afterwards.
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
20th Jul 06 at 12:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Firmware didn't fix it. Time for new HDD's I think

Computer has been busted for about a month now

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Here is a pic Foy_Corsa_A Classifieds 1 220
30th May 03 at 13:29
by Foy_Corsa_A
 
whos from blackpool and wheres their cruise Tracey North West and North Wales 199 1849
11th May 04 at 15:19
by Mo
 
Crash **56k beware** John General Chat 42 1155
9th Jul 04 at 10:22
by chris_uk
 
very small philips radio justrials2 Parts Offered 4 224
24th Apr 06 at 14:11
by justrials2
 
Top Gear Robin General Chat 59 1169
8th May 06 at 19:41
by Eckmcmann
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Oooops! 28 database queries in 0.0166111 seconds