corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Astra/Corsa MFD into Nova


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Astra/Corsa MFD into Nova
Ojc
Member

Registered: 14th Nov 00
Location: Reading: Drives : Clio 197
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 14:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Gonna go to the scrappy on Saturday and steal one

Anyway, I want to (I say I want to, but will ask Lee M nicely) wire it into the Nova and then get one of those kits from LMF which can change the display so you can have 1/4 times, top speed, 0-60.

Do you reckon it would be hard to do? I know Marv wired one in the other day to his Corsa, considering I have a Corsa loom already.

Also, could I wire a Mk3 Astra GSi one in? So it reads the washer fluid level etc etc?
City
Member

Registered: 30th Dec 03
Location: Wakefield Drives: Red GSi
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 14:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it hard but u can speak to dan j00rsa
Ojc
Member

Registered: 14th Nov 00
Location: Reading: Drives : Clio 197
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 14:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hard

Marv said it was easy.
City
Member

Registered: 30th Dec 03
Location: Wakefield Drives: Red GSi
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 14:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

im on about astra gsi trip computer dunno bout the other
Joff
Member

Registered: 17th Oct 00
Location: Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 15:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've got the GSi MFD too
James@CCC
Member

Registered: 10th Nov 03
Location: Eaton Bray, Bedfordshire
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 15:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

normal mfd will be easy

the gsi trip computer would be harder, i was told u had to have a 2 litre, but i dunno. this could help also

Fitting a MK3 Astra GSI Multi Info Display (MID) in a MK3 Astra without Check Control.
MK3 Astra Multi Info Display Wiring Blue Connector.

Pin
Colour
Function
Connects to

1
White/Green
Tail or Dipped beam failure
Ground

2
Brown/Blue
Coolant Level Switch
Ground

3
Blue/Red
Engine Oil Level Switch
Ground

4
Black/Yellow
Stop Light Fuse
12V Ignition

5
Black
Fuse 7
Black on TID/DID Loom

6




7




8




9




10




11




12




13
Brown
Ground
Brown on TID/DID Loom

14
Brown/White
Diagnostic
Optional, Diagnostic Pin G

15
Brown/Red
Diagnostic
Optional, Diagnostic Pin D

16
Brown/White
Reset Button
Stalk (Stalk Common to ground)

17
Brown/Red
Set Button
Stalk (Stalk Common to ground)

18
Blue/Black
Fuel Tank Sender
Back of Instrument Cluster, Left Hand connector

19




20
Blue/Red
Speed Signal
Transfer wire & pin from TID Connector

21
Black/Brown
Fuel signal
See Table Below

22
Blue
Outside Temperature
Transfer wire & pin from TID Connector

23
Blue/White
Outside Temperature
Transfer wire & pin from TID Connector

24
Yellow/Red
Brake pad wear sensors
Ground

25
Brown/Yellow
Washer fluid level Switch
Ground

26
Black/Yellow
Stop Light Lamps
Leave Disconnected


Black connector

Pin
Colour
Function

1
Red 12V
2
Blue Outside temp - Transfer to Blue connector
3
Brown Ground
4
Blue/White Outside temp - Transfer to Blue connector
5
Black Ignition
6
Grey/Green
Instrument Illumination

7
Grey/Black
Instrument dimmer

8
Red/Grey
Radio

9
Brown/White
Radio

10
Brown/White
Radio

11
Brown/White
Radio

12
Blue/Red
Speed Signal - Transfer to Blue connector




ECU/Engine Type
Fuel Signal Pin on Engine ECU
MFD Program No. (Pulses per km)
C14NZ / C16NZ
A2
2 (8850), 82 (16530)
C14SE / C16SE / X16SZ / 16LZ2 / C18NZ
B4

X14XE / X16XEL / X16SZR
B12

C20NE M1.5.2 / 18SE M1.5.4 / C20XE M2.5
32
9 (8850), 89 (16530) not XE
C20XE M2.8
15
50 (8850), 114 (16530) and M2.5
C18XE S56 / X20XEV S56.1
14
66 (16530)
X18XE / X20XEV S56.5
21




*C25XE M2.8 (Cavalier/Calibra)
17

*C20LET M2.7 (Cavalier/Calibra)
32

*X25XE M2.8.3 (Vectra)
47




* These Engine/ECU combination will not have a Factory MID program.



Note:

If you want to do a proper job.

Obtain a Diag connector from a Cavalier, and remove one of the contacts.

Join this to a brown/red wire, and insert it in Location D of the Astra Diag connector in the fuse box (lever up the retaining clip that pushes in from the top)

Connect this Brown/Red to the one on the MFD loom.

Connect the Brown/White from the MFD to th brown/white wires coming from Pin G of the Diag plug.

You can now reprogram the MFD with Tech1, and read Fault codes, by Paperclip A-D


James@CCC
Member

Registered: 10th Nov 03
Location: Eaton Bray, Bedfordshire
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 15:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

that came out a little giberishy. i have a website saved, but i dont have webspace other than pictures
Ojc
Member

Registered: 14th Nov 00
Location: Reading: Drives : Clio 197
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 15:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Might just stick with a basic Astra G one, like found in the basic models.

Then take out the heater vents and stick it in there.
James
Member

Registered: 1st Jun 02
Location: Surrey
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 16:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

how much are the kits that show o-60 etc?

u got a link?
M2RTY
Member

Registered: 25th May 01
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 16:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

3 wires to link a normal one up

earth, ignition live and perm live

this makes it light up when ignition is on (normal one also lights up when lights are on but this is pointless for the amount of hassel it is worth)

also two wires for a temp sensor if needed
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 16:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Tis pretty easy, I have the instructions and wiring diagram for the Astra MFD, you will need the appropriate senders for the washer bottle level e.t.c... You will also need the right washer bottle which would be the Astra one because the sender is in the lid. Fitting the M-Tec computer is basically unplugging the old MFD and putting in a new one as far as I know....
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 17:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ive ordered my astra mfd and stalk
Ojc
Member

Registered: 14th Nov 00
Location: Reading: Drives : Clio 197
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 18:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Stalk?
Ojc
Member

Registered: 14th Nov 00
Location: Reading: Drives : Clio 197
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 18:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Jambo
Ive ordered my astra mfd and stalk


How much?
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
5th May 05 at 18:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you need a stalk to operate the fuctions on the gsi one.

I got it all in for 40 with all wires etc off a guy from mig.

Am awaiting postage

 
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Astra/Corsa MFD into Nova 22 database queries in 0.0134461 seconds