corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » wiring up a Playstation 2


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author wiring up a Playstation 2
tomcorsa
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: London/kent
User status: Offline
24th Dec 04 at 16:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ive jsut fittd a pioneer ahv p6400 cd motorised screen headunit in my Audi A3 n have decided i want 2 wire it up 2 my PS2 i have brought a lead that runs from the back of the ps2 to the red white and yellow RCA outputs in the back of the headunit i have connected it up n tries pressing source on the headunit but it just doesnt seem 2 work just tuner n cd works any ideas/help or isntruuctions on wiring it all up many thanx
PainZ
Member

Registered: 28th Jun 02
Location: Camberley, Surrey - Drives a Black Vectra VXR Esta
User status: Offline
24th Dec 04 at 16:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Have you connected the power inverter to the PS2?
neiliosxi
Member

Registered: 17th Dec 02
Location: Teesside (NE)Drives: Megane R26
User status: Offline
24th Dec 04 at 18:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

u have to switch the aux input to on in the setup screen of your headunit.
you may also find that you get nothing on the screen, you have to earth the outer terminal of the yellow rca.
tomcorsa
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: London/kent
User status: Offline
25th Dec 04 at 11:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

wot u mean by the outer terminal how do i do this cheerz
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
25th Dec 04 at 20:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

There should be a wire labelled PARK or SWITCH, its usually green, designed to be wired to the handbrake switch. You wont get anything out of the screen unless you wire it up to the switch, or connect the wire to a permanent ground.
tomcorsa
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: London/kent
User status: Offline
26th Dec 04 at 21:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

cheerz i wundered y i had a long lenghth of light green cable in a packet and theres a green cabble doin nuffing at the back of teh unit so i take it i connect it 2 that then ground
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
26th Dec 04 at 21:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yup thats the one
tomcorsa
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: London/kent
User status: Offline
27th Dec 04 at 16:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thanks people connected it all up earthed the green cable n turned aux and video on getiing power 2 ps2 etc etc but no picture is cumming up wen i take the green cable away from earth the warning notice appears as it should saying u cannot use this while driving any 1 else have any ideas cheerz
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
27th Dec 04 at 17:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Doesnt the unit have more than 1 video input? U tried switching them around?
tomcorsa
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: London/kent
User status: Offline
27th Dec 04 at 17:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

na fink its 1 input i mite pop in a shop 2mora its gota be a setting on the headunit
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
27th Dec 04 at 21:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You done the initial setup?

Your supposed to press the A.Menu button on your remote when your in video/av mode, use the buttons to highlight SET UP MENU and press A.Menu on the remote again, then use the buttons to highlight video setting and press A.Menu, then make sure ur PS2 is powered on and connected, then press left or right until you see the PS2 screen.

Hope it helps
tomcorsa
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: London/kent
User status: Offline
28th Dec 04 at 19:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

cheerz 4 that m8 ive got it all wokring jst the picture is bad but the reason it wasnt working in the 1st place is beacuse the yellow inputs lead coming from the headunit were damaged so i cut tehm off n re joined them now it is working but has a not very good picture is this because i have joined/boged it lol i tried 2 get a new lead but its bank hol 2day so if i get a new lead that oplugs in teh back of the headunit with all the rca inputs n outputs on sh=ud this solve my problems hope u understand wot im tryina say lol cheerz 4 ure help




Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
28th Dec 04 at 22:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You should never cut and join RCA leads unless you have some experience. Id get some new leads before you cause some damage
tomcorsa
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: London/kent
User status: Offline
30th Dec 04 at 16:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

causr sum damage in wot way m8 i chekked wiv mylocal audio shop n they sed its fine but may be causing teh dodgey pic
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
30th Dec 04 at 22:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

they may be shorting out on each other or the resistance may be incorrect causing an unbalanced degraded signal.
Lee 16v
Member

Registered: 25th Jun 04
Location: Maidstone Drives: Corsa 2.0 16v
User status: Offline
31st Dec 04 at 02:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Richie
they may be shorting out on each other or the resistance may be incorrect causing an unbalanced degraded signal.


you actually know everything about electronics dont ya...

ur the man

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
PS2 Games dirtydan Parts Offered 7 1270
16th Jan 04 at 18:26
by Recaro1
 
PS2 Games dirtydan Parts Offered 1 1283
20th Mar 07 at 21:04
by Whittie
 
Console Games dirtydan Parts Offered 2 1114
20th Jan 04 at 21:09
by dirtydan
 
some stuff for sale corsaboi2005 Parts Offered 0 844
27th Aug 04 at 17:15
by corsaboi2005
 
Are Alpine all in one Sub and amp systems any good? welshdude Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 20 687
16th Nov 04 at 23:15
by welshdude
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » wiring up a Playstation 2 27 database queries in 0.0178618 seconds