corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » **XE conversion - how to convert speedo over ???**


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author **XE conversion - how to convert speedo over ???**
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
5th Nov 04 at 17:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

OK so the guy doing my conversion is supposed to know what he's doing LOL. My clocks are electric speedo and the F20 box cable speedo - how do you convert it to work? Give me an iddiots guide please as I need to tell him over the phone, he mentioned something about a digi-dash transucer or something off a GTE? Cheers for any help
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
5th Nov 04 at 17:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Take the sender off of your gearbox and put it onto the F20. There you go, an idiots guide.
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
5th Nov 04 at 17:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Nice one - thanks This is why I aint doing it myself - i'd be like this with every single thing and i'd be on here bugging you guys all day long LOL appreciate it

Phoned him to tell him and he says he's just took it round the block and apparently it fooking flies... Thats cruel telling me that! I gooda wait now until Tues when I can get over there to pick it up.

[Edited on 05-11-2004 by TOMAS]
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
5th Nov 04 at 17:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'd be a little worried if the guy who was fitting the engine couldn't figure that one out though... What they gonna do when it comes to the header tank and the numerous other things that need actual modding like the gear linkage
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
5th Nov 04 at 17:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

header tank needs modding eh? Well i dunno, he says he's mainly done nova's and older corsa's and a tigra - was just struggling with the elecro to mechanical speedo - he had the right idea though as he was going to get a transducer from vaux for the GTE F20 box which is electo... Obviously didnt realise the F13 speed sender would fit??
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
5th Nov 04 at 18:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You need to make an extra hole in the header tank to fit one of the collent pipes. No biggie.

I don't even think that the Astra sender will even work with your dash, as the signals they send different signals. As far as I know all the senders fit all of the gearboxes - an F15 on off of an Astra fits my F10 fine... (Astras didn't use the F20 - Cavaliers did (I think))
jr
Member

Registered: 20th May 02
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
5th Nov 04 at 19:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by 1800ed
You need to make an extra hole in the header tank to fit one of the collent pipes. No biggie.

I don't even think that the Astra sender will even work with your dash, as the signals they send different signals. As far as I know all the senders fit all of the gearboxes - an F15 on off of an Astra fits my F10 fine... (Astras didn't use the F20 - Cavaliers did (I think))


or if you have a 16v header tank you already have the second hole there

GTE used f16 and f20, cavs used f20s
J100RSA
Member

Registered: 4th Mar 01
Location: Thornhill, West Yorkshire
User status: Offline
6th Nov 04 at 01:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

u need speed transducer from a late corsa 1.5d or a 1.2 8v again a late model car the one in your current f13 wint work as its a hall effect type sensor
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
6th Nov 04 at 10:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I have a 16V header tank - so no mods needed there! So the sensor in my F13 wont work then? So I need a speed transducer from a LATE, 1.2 8V? thaught they stopped making the 8V ers years ago?
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
6th Nov 04 at 11:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

There are two types.

If the gearbox you want to use has a cable driven speedo and u have electric clocks, you either need the cog to electric sender type transducer, or you need to bust apart the gearbox and change the little wheel over that the other type of transducer picks the pulses up from.

I had an F13 with an electric speedo in mine, me and james had to take apart the F15 i had put in, and swap those little wheels around with the F13 so my speedo would work.
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
6th Nov 04 at 12:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cheers Richie - this lot sounds a lot harder than the days of woofers and amps LOL

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
question about engines and mileage corsaon18s Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 12 1125
13th Jan 04 at 12:19
by Greasemonkey
 
20 16v conversion mad_mike Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 12 667
25th Aug 03 at 17:19
by stuyw
 
Tigra clocks mad_mike Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 16 906
21st Sep 03 at 22:04
by mav
 
Somethings bugging me stevegreetham Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 6 527
10th Mar 04 at 15:21
by MikeH
 
my cars fixed!!!!!!!! 56k nob off! Matt H General Chat 76 2212
17th May 04 at 18:01
by SQUARE
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » **XE conversion - how to convert speedo over ???** 27 database queries in 0.0147140 seconds