corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » ECU in a Corsa!


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author ECU in a Corsa!
Sellar
Member

Registered: 28th Nov 02
Location: Aberdeen
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 02:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ok i don't know if you can!! but can you swap a 1.6 16v GSi ecu with a 1.6 16v Sport!


What's the difference, does anyone know the difference between the two engines?

ok mine is a w reg, with abs and air con, would that make a difference at all!
Cybermonkey
Member

Registered: 22nd Sep 02
Location: Sydney, Australia
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 04:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

depends which engine. Lots pf problems with same ECU's anyway. Immobilisers play havoc with it. If ECU is from C16XE, it isnt suitable for yours which is an X16XE. However, most GSi's have the X16XE engine anyway, so it may work if you change the whole lot.
Adam-D
Member

Registered: 11th May 02
Location: Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 09:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i have a gsi ecu if you want it
Sellar
Member

Registered: 28th Nov 02
Location: Aberdeen
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 11:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Cybermonkey24
depends which engine. Lots pf problems with same ECU's anyway. Immobilisers play havoc with it. If ECU is from C16XE, it isnt suitable for yours which is an X16XE. However, most GSi's have the X16XE engine anyway, so it may work if you change the whole lot.



wouldn't that mean the X16XE GSi would be the same ecu as mine, then no point in changing it!

Is this correct.........

C16XE pre Eco-Tec
X16XE Eco-Tec

Or does this mean that this X16XE engine came with both pre eco-tec and eco-tec???
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 12:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

X16XE is an EcoTec engine
C16XE is Pre-Ecotec...

You will need to match the ECU with the engine (so using X16XE ECU on X16XE Engine (EcoTec), and C16XE ECU on C16XE Engine (Pre-Ecotec))

You will also need the key & transponder for the imobiliser to match the ECU, unless you pay silly money at vaux to get it all done properly.
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 12:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

so yes there is no way on earth you can use a C16XE ECU on a Sport 16v (X16XE) & visa-versa...
1600power
Member

Registered: 22nd Apr 04
Location: Shropshire Drives: 1.6 16v Sport
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 16:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

just to clarify this point 150%!!!!

I had to track down a new ECU for my 1.6 sport and at first tried at 1.6 gsi ecu.....the result was a smoking ECU box lol.

In the end and after much searching i finally found a 1.6 corsa sport ECU brought that and fitted it and everything was fine.

My advice to you is try ur hardest to track down a corsasport and get the ECU off that (along with the key) otherwise ur in the poo!!!!

so to summarise!

C16XE (GSI) - Will NOT EVER work on an X16XE!
ainsley_brader
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 02
Location: Tattershall, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 19:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by PaulW
X16XE is an EcoTec engine
C16XE is -Ecotec...




BOTH ecotec engines, just one doesnt have egr etc one does
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 20:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by ainsley_brader
quote:
Originally posted by PaulW
X16XE is an EcoTec engine
C16XE is -Ecotec...




BOTH ecotec engines, just one doesnt have egr etc one does


true but its easier to say one is one isn't as the C16XE doesn't have it stamped on the plastic cover & alot of places don't know the C16XE as an ecotec so just call it pre-ecotec
ainsley_brader
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 02
Location: Tattershall, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 04 at 20:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

perhaps but its not true would be like calling a debadged corsa a nova because its not badged a corsa
finni
Member

Registered: 31st Jul 04
Location: huddersfield
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 01:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if you have a corsa sport and are wanting an ecu you can get the ecu from a corsa gsi m reg and onwards as they are same engine. if its an L reg gsi then dont bother cos that is pre-ecotec. dont expect your aircon to work if you get the ecu out of a gsi though as gsi's or not many anyway didnt have air-con
finni
Member

Registered: 31st Jul 04
Location: huddersfield
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 01:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

and ainsley harriot. that would be like calling the red top engine the same as the ecotec engine. as they are the same block. you see there is a difference. in bhp and polution. c stands for euro emissions 1 and x for euro emissions 2. 2 being more friendly to the environment. pre ecotec corsa has a few more horses than ecotec
Cybermonkey
Member

Registered: 22nd Sep 02
Location: Sydney, Australia
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 02:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

finni, most of us on here already know all that. And what do you mean the 20XE is the same as the ecotec engine??? i presume you are talking about the 2.0 ecotec unit found in vectras etc? And by the way, there were revision changes to the ECU when vauxhall released the facelifted corsa in 1997. A 1995 m reg gsi has a different ECU to a 1997 1.6 Sport. Hence why they dont work with each other.
Greasemonkey
Member

Registered: 17th Apr 02
Location: Drives a Tractor
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 07:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

the C16XE engine was in M-reg corsa GSI, i have one in mine they didnt change to the X16XE till about september 1994, so the early M-reg ones have the C16XE (much better) engine
L330wnz
Member

Registered: 9th Mar 04
Location: Norwich, Norfolk
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 07:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

^^ rubbish...

u2u me dood!!
Cybermonkey
Member

Registered: 22nd Sep 02
Location: Sydney, Australia
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 08:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you may even find K/L reg GSi's with X16 engines, since they were retrofitted to GSis with the very bad cambelt problems because of the plastic rollers
Cybermonkey
Member

Registered: 22nd Sep 02
Location: Sydney, Australia
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 08:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

sorry, plastic tensioners
L330wnz
Member

Registered: 9th Mar 04
Location: Norwich, Norfolk
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 08:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

aye plastic tensioners suck
Sellar
Member

Registered: 28th Nov 02
Location: Aberdeen
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 11:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Cybermonkey24
you may even find K/L reg GSi's with X16 engines, since they were retrofitted to GSis with the very bad cambelt problems because of the plastic rollers


so wait a mintue, if i get the ecu out of a X16 Gsi engine, i should be able to get more brake! i have a w reg corsa sport 1600...

or would that mean that the gsi's with the x16 engines only have, 106 instead of 109
Cybermonkey
Member

Registered: 22nd Sep 02
Location: Sydney, Australia
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 11:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thats right, all X16XE engines have 106bhp, regardless of the model they were fitted to. and if the engine is pre-97, chances are it wont work in your late model 1.6 anyway
ainsley_brader
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 02
Location: Tattershall, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 20:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by finni
and ainsley harriot. that would be like calling the red top engine the same as the ecotec engine. as they are the same block. you see there is a difference. in bhp and polution. c stands for euro emissions 1 and x for euro emissions 2. 2 being more friendly to the environment. pre ecotec corsa has a few more horses than ecotec


no finni arsehole, when vauxhall released the c16xe in the corsa gsi they, thats vauxhall not some arrogant twat on a messageboard, branded it an ecotec 4 engine, hence wether it be a c16xe or an x16xe its an ecotec engine!

"Red top" has nothing to do with this. That said calling it a redtop is wrong because not all c20xe's had red tops!
finni
Member

Registered: 31st Jul 04
Location: huddersfield
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 21:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no cos its called an ecotec because of the egr valve. so if your car came standard with an egr valve its ecotec. if it didnt like my L reg corsa. its called pre ecotec. ive got haynes max power for corsa to prove that the earlier engines are not called ecotec
ainsley_brader
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 02
Location: Tattershall, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 21:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

max power eh!

I have a 1994 corsa sales leaflet in which vauxhall describe there 1.6i 16v Cat. 1598cc ECOTEC-4 engine with 109PS @6000rpm, 110.6lb.ft @ 3800rpm
finni
Member

Registered: 31st Jul 04
Location: huddersfield
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 22:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

words from the haynes manual. page 9 verse 5
many of the later engines where 16 valve designs,which usually result in free breathing, high revving, and useful power gains. but this hasnt always been the case with the corsa units ( when the 1.6 engine became an Ecotec unit, it lost power!) i.e from c16 - x16 109bhp - 106bhp
ainsley_brader
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 02
Location: Tattershall, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
3rd Aug 04 at 22:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

considering its vauxhalls engine i'll take their word for it

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
HorsePower atomicsheep Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 54 7221
2nd Jun 09 at 12:22
by Ellis
 
Corsasport RWYB day vibrio General Chat 102 5282
22nd Sep 05 at 01:43
by muppetsport
 
the bucket: V1 engine strip (heads off, pistons out) AK General Chat 120 4479
2nd Feb 05 at 14:02
by corsa808
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » ECU in a Corsa! 27 database queries in 0.0260320 seconds