corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Anyone know anything about this please

Combe Tickets


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Anyone know anything about this please
Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 19:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

satalite broadband i cant make head nor tail of the website

http://satdrive.com/NEW+SECTIONS/SatDrive+Explained/What+Is+SatDrive%3F/!-!///!+!/Page/b3a79bb849786610cba9cec98803272c/STEP/1
Joff
Member

Registered: 17th Oct 00
Location: Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 19:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I looked at satellite broadband when I had a place in the sticks and it wasn't worth the price
Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 19:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

well tell me wot made u think that and wot u found out about it please
Greg_M
Member

Registered: 2nd Sep 03
Location: Grantham, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 19:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

when i looked at it it was like 70 a month. Basicly is works through satelites and not the cables under gound. Couldnt tell you exactly how tho.
Paul
Member

Registered: 16th Apr 02
Location: Oop north.
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 20:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I think it works by dialing up to your ISP via your phone line at standard data rates and uses the satellite to download the content. There are inherent problems with satellite broadband things like lag times, it ties up your phone line and data rates is dependant of weather. Hope this helps
Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 20:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

in other words back to the drawing board then

3 of us cant share dial up ffs
Paul
Member

Registered: 16th Apr 02
Location: Oop north.
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 20:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Give me your situation kerry distance from your local exchange etc and any local friends you have that have broadband and wether or not you can see there house with out any obstructions

[Edited on 28-04-2004 by Paul]
Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 20:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

erm well i dont know where the exchange is only lived here 3 weeks its in the middle of no where and my only friends are the neighbouring wildlife

does that help

p.s even if i had any mates i wouldnt be able to see thier houses for the miles of woodland
Adam
Member

Registered: 1st May 01
Location: Hurstbourne Tarrant
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 20:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ISDN line?
Paul
Member

Registered: 16th Apr 02
Location: Oop north.
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 20:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

What i was going to suggest is getting a mate who can get broadband and pay them half and use a wireless link between your house and there's but i don't think the wildlife have any use for ADSL. Yeah an isdn line would be an option ring BT direct they may be able to offer you a ADSL offer which is slower that if you lived closer to the exchange but it'll still be quicker than a 56K modem

[Edited on 28-04-2004 by Paul]
Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 20:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yes but its 175 before u start plus 23 a month and u have to find ure own isp

bt will provide u one for a tenner but thats only 75 hours full speed which between 3 of us a month is not really very good
Nismo
Member

Registered: 12th Sep 02
User status: Offline
28th Apr 04 at 22:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

UKonline do a Pay As You Surf ISDN package
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
29th Apr 04 at 00:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I take it ADSL isn't available where you live?

Click here to check, if you haven't already......works by post-code (not very accurate) or phone-number (more accurate).
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
29th Apr 04 at 00:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Paul
What i was going to suggest is getting a mate who can get broadband and pay them half and use a wireless link between your house and there's but i don't think the wildlife have any use for ADSL. Yeah an isdn line would be an option ring BT direct they may be able to offer you a ADSL offer which is slower that if you lived closer to the exchange but it'll still be quicker than a 56K modem

[Edited on 28-04-2004 by Paul]

The two houses would need to be very close together, otherwise you'd get massive degradation of the wireless signal...

And you can't have both ISDN and ADSL on the same line, they're exclusive products (one or the other)......ISDN is a rip-off, hardly that much faster than 56k, and the price is almost comparable to ADSL (which is up to 10 times faster than 56k for a standard 512kbps package).

As a final word, if you're going with ADSL, avoid Tiscali like the plague...
Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
29th Apr 04 at 22:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

wots adsl?
Ian
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 28th Aug 99
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
29th Apr 04 at 23:00   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Broadband Kerry.

Dan - Depends on the antenna - we've linked sites with a few hundred quids worth of fancy thing and the results are impressive.

I wouldn't even consider satellite broadband - every click suffers the same amount of lag as the American guy on the news responding to the question read by the English newsreader. I expect it would be particularly annoying.


Corsa B lap belts required
Craig6682
Member

Registered: 8th Apr 03
User status: Offline
29th Apr 04 at 23:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Just use Freeserve! Now called wanado or something
Nismo
Member

Registered: 12th Sep 02
User status: Offline
29th Apr 04 at 23:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

just have to wait until its avalible , evven if this means 2006

id never consider moving anywhere where DSL isnt enabled , i just couldnt live
Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
30th Apr 04 at 20:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i cant live

looks like its isdn then

anyone know anything about wireless isdn?
LukeGSi
Member

Registered: 9th Dec 03
User status: Offline
30th Apr 04 at 20:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Please help us, dial up is shite
Nismo
Member

Registered: 12th Sep 02
User status: Offline
30th Apr 04 at 21:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You can use ISDN at 128K , or you can purchase a Leased Line but that wont be cheap
Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
30th Apr 04 at 21:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

its so confusing
Nismo
Member

Registered: 12th Sep 02
User status: Offline
30th Apr 04 at 21:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

A leased Line would be a dedicated Digital line put in (Mega Bucks) and routed to the exchange then it is used as a DSL line with speeds upto 2Mbps and even 8mbps exchange dependent.

Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
30th Apr 04 at 21:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

o rite ok i get ya

do u know anythin about bt isdn? i know u get 2 lines and can have both internet or one phone one internet but warren said something about wireless networking kus we need it on 3 pc's

LukeGSi
Member

Registered: 9th Dec 03
User status: Offline
30th Apr 04 at 21:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i know nothing about isdn but i have stolen this cool little man

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Anyone know anything about this please 25 database queries in 0.0223160 seconds