corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » question for compter people....


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author question for compter people....
CorsaLad
Member

Registered: 25th Sep 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i am moving out of university halls and into a house next year. It has five bedrooms and one broadband connection. We want to split the connection to the five bedrooms, how would we do this?

I have some understanding of computers.

Cheers

James
Adam-D
Member

Registered: 11th May 02
Location: Cheshire
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

get a wirless bb router bout 80 for 5 computers
piss easy to set up
M2RTY
Member

Registered: 25th May 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

a network car per PC, cable from each PC to a central broadband hub

or

wireless
CorsaLad
Member

Registered: 25th Sep 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

what would be the price difference betwen wireless and cable?
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Wireless, with encryption (to prevent someone sat outside your house using your connection for free).
Siberia
Member

Registered: 9th Oct 03
Location: Leprechaun Land Drives : Zafira GSI
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

router->switch->network cards. connect all together. do a bit of tweeking to the aul software and yer laughin.
CorsaLad
Member

Registered: 25th Sep 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thanks guys you've been really helpful. What would tweaking the aul software do?
Siberia
Member

Registered: 9th Oct 03
Location: Leprechaun Land Drives : Zafira GSI
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

well by that i mean setting the software up I.E the network settings on each computer and the router also so they can all talk to each other

if i was to type it all here though id be typing for an hour

basically get one computer working then add the others 1 by 1 or if you know what yer doing just do it all at the same time
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Siberia is right, all you need to do is get the net connection up and working on the main pc. Then (if you use Windows XP) enable ICS (internet connection sharing) on all the others.

I'd go with serial cables rather than the wireless route. Costs less and is guaranteed to work all the time. One of my mates keeps getting poor signals with all his wireless gear.

My 2 coppers

Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If he's using a router, there won't be anything on the network that would be referred to as a "gateway machine", so ICS isn't required. And I think you mean ethernet cable, rather than serial cable...

Each machine would set the internal IP address of the router as its default gateway, each machine would have an IP address in the same subnet as the router, and each machine will be independent of the other 4.

Sample setup:

Internal router IP: 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
5 Computer IPs: 192.168.0.2, 192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.4, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.6

Voila...

[Edited on 19/02/2004 by Dan B]

[Edited on 19/02/2004 by Dan B]
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

very true, but i was talking about a network that doesnt use a router. Like mine at home.

The 'Gateway' or server assigns IPs to each of the computers ie 192.168.0.1 / 0.2 / 0.3 etc etc..

I use ICS at home with 4 computers, works fine. By serial cable i meant standard networking (CAT5 or whatever it's called) cable

Dave
CorsaLad
Member

Registered: 25th Sep 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

how much do you think it would cost me in total to set up a system like this?

Can you get routers with 5 ports (for the other computers)?

James
Cavey
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: Derby
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

4 or 8 ports probably, should be about 25-30 for the router, 10-20 for the cabling i guess, not too much, most routers come plug n play these days too, so wouldn't need much setting up if you're all using XP
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You only need the 1 router like Dan B said. There's be enough ports on there for your setup.

The cable won't cost you much. Look for Belkin or Link SYS for your router, very good makes.
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

sry forgot to mention price, Netgear do some very xpensive ones (100+).

My advice, spend no more than £40 on a router. If it's just for a simple home setup then you'll be fine with one of them

Dave
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

to clarify, here's what i'd do (and what you need)

1 x network card for each pc (D-Link work fine if you're on a budget 14.99)

1 x Lots of networking cable

1 x internet connection

ok, install each network card and se4tup each computer individually. Ie making sure they can see themselves when you click on 'my network places'. Don't forget to share one of your drives just to check.

Once you have done all 5 comps, log on to the internet on the main comp. Go to the connections menu and right click on the internet connection > select properties. Make sure there is a tick in the box for "allow others browse the web through my computer" (or something like that) This is ICS - Internet Connection Sharing and is a windows XP built in service.

Note: You only need to do this on the comp with the net connection.

Now, on the others, you need to double click internet explorer and click tools > internet options > connections > setup

Set up a 'home network' and select the option to "browse the internet through a network computer". You'll need to do this for all 4 computers.

When this is done, click Tools > Internet options > Lan settings and make sure you have 'automatically detect settings" ticked.

That should be all there is to it my friend. If you get stuck then u2u me. Also, here's a link to a forum im a member of, sign up there and someone will be able to help you out in minutes. Very knowledgeable people over there

http://forums.amdmb.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=6

Hope this helps

Dave
Patrick
Member

Registered: 25th Apr 02
Location: SE London
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yes yes Dave you boffin
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

hahaha, may not know a lot about cars, but computers are my specialty, not networking though, pain in the ass it is.
CorsaLad
Member

Registered: 25th Sep 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 16:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by --Dave--
hahaha, may not know a lot about cars, but computers are my specialty, not networking though, pain in the ass it is.


Thanks alot --Dave-- you've been really helpful! We wont be doing it for a couple of months but if i do get any prob ill prob send you a u2u!

Thanks again mate
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 16:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no probs - hope all goes well
Adam-D
Member

Registered: 11th May 02
Location: Cheshire
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 16:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by --Dave--
hahaha, may not know a lot about cars, but computers are my specialty, not networking though, pain in the ass it is.


networking is a pain in the ass

fecking h8 it

but i hate programming more ie i dont bother
im a person who can strip re-build pc's set them up etc but programming keep it away
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 16:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

nice, i'm the exact opposite. Love taking them apart and overclocking them. I know where to come to now when i need help with anything that requires 'programming'
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 16:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

just realised that i just made a total fool of myself, lmao. Read your reply wrong!

Waiting on a new processor this week to come through the door. can't wait to get that thing up and running. 2.5ghz here i come!

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
new idea 4 corsasport? STEvieXE General Chat 9 971
17th Apr 03 at 23:00
by Adam
 
new computer??? WaNtEd_CoRsA General Chat 2 657
23rd Jun 03 at 11:46
by Inta-Corsa
 
Come On.....Test me Romford Astra General Chat 129 2776
13th Aug 03 at 17:31
by p4ult
 
v6 brakes broster Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 12 706
7th Oct 03 at 07:54
by broster
 
Samurai Side skirts Hazzle Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 15 1057
14th Dec 03 at 17:42
by Ollie_Corsa
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » question for compter people.... 28 database queries in 0.0143950 seconds