corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Need a bit of help (HTML)


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Need a bit of help (HTML)
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 21:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ok I need a bit of help with some code, I'm trying to get a drop down menu to open a page up in a new window like when clicking on the newsletters... but testing it on my machine, it opens the newsletter in the main window & not in a popup

is there anyway to get this to happen?? would be a great help thanks

page im trying to do it on is

http://stnicholas-school.org.uk/head/head.htm
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you need abit of javascript or vbscript in there
Basically, when option box equals a certain value, which you set in the HTML option box value setting, goto here, etc

And btw, take the right-mouse click event off, if people want to nick your stuff they will, it doesnt protect you against anything

edit: if you wack up the sorce code or sumthing i can write abit of vbscript to do it, but then it will only work in IE browsers Im not good at javascript

[Edited on 05-01-2004 by VisibleMan]
Ian
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 28th Aug 99
Location: Liverpool
User status: Online
5th Jan 04 at 22:01   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

At a guess, find this line:

code:
<select name="archives_menu" onChange="MM_jumpMenu('parent',this,0)">


and change 'parent' to '_blank'

Or it might be 'this' wants changing to '_blank'. I'd have to know more about those functions.

Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thing is, paul has javascript in place already - when ya click on the little paper icon it popups with the newsletter. So basically you just piggy back the same code into the option (select) box
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

tried piggybackin it but no joy so far, ill have another go & up it see if it works
Ian
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 28th Aug 99
Location: Liverpool
User status: Online
5th Jan 04 at 22:13   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

No, the MM_jumpMenu function has target as an input, should be very easy to specific a new window in there.
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

aye just messin about with the code now
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Heres some vbscript and it works

Wack this inside the head tags -
code:

<Script language="vbscript">
Function OpenWin()
Dim strVal
strVal = form1.mnu.options(form1.mnu.selectedindex).value
If strVal <> "#" then
set popupWin = window.open(strVal,"NewsLetter","scrollbars=yes, width=720, height=500")
set popupWin = nothing
End If
End Function
</script>



Then change the selection box bit to this -
code:

<form name="form1">
<select name="mnu" onChange="OpenWin()">
<option value="#" selected>-- Please Choose Newsletter --</option>
<option value="1002.htm">Test1</option>
</select>
'repeat above for others
<input type="button" name="news_view" value="View" onClick="MM_jumpMenuGo('archives_menu','parent',0)">
</form>



Tested it here and it works
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Rite

got it now to open a popup correctly, but, the parent is also being changed. I've tried sending it to _blank & also completely removing the parent decleration, but doing that stops it working all together...

code:
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript">
<!--
function MM_jumpMenu(targ,selObj,restore){ //v3.0
window.open(eval(targ+".location='"+selObj.options[selObj.selectedIndex].value+"'"),'arch','scrollbars=yes,width=720,height=500');
if (restore) selObj.selectedIndex=0;
}

function MM_findObj(n, d) { //v4.01
var p,i,x; if(!d) d=document; if((p=n.indexOf("?"))>0&&parent.frames.length) {
d=parent.frames[n.substring(p+1)].document; n=n.substring(0,p);}
if(!(x=d[n])&&d.all) x=d.all[n]; for (i=0;!x&&i<d.forms.length;i++) x=d.forms[n];
for(i=0;!x&&d.layers&&i<d.layers.length;i++) x=MM_findObj(n,d.layers.document);
if(!x && d.getElementById) x=d.getElementById(n); return x;
}

function MM_jumpMenuGo(selName,targ,restore){ //v3.0
var selObj = MM_findObj(selName); if (selObj) MM_jumpMenu(targ,selObj,restore);
}
//-->
</script>

<form name="form1">
<select name="archives_menu" onChange="MM_jumpMenu('parent',this,0)">
<option value="#" selected>-- Please Choose Newsletter --</option>
<option value="1002.htm">October 2002</option>
</select>
<input type="button" name="news_view" value="View" onClick="MM_jumpMenuGo('archives_menu','parent',0)">
</form>

PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ok will give it a try cheers!
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

<select name="archives_menu" onChange="MM_jumpMenu('_new',this,0)">

try that mate, might work although i can just work out javascript lol
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've put your function in, works a treat & is much smaller

Cheers
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

just needed to change one thing tho

code:
<input type="button" name="news_view" value="View" onClick="MM_jumpMenuGo('archives_menu','parent',0)">



to

code:
<input type="button" name="news_view" value="View" onClick="OpenWin()">
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thing is mate, whats the point in having that button? as soon as you change the option box value it loads up the newsletter so either drop the button or drop the onchange event

Also, note that vbscript isnt that good in other browsers So i would still look for a way to get it to work in javascript. Best bet mate, look it up on javascript.com or something, google etc
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

reet have uploaded the head file

also put a lil thanks in the code

cheers!
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by VisibleMan
thing is mate, whats the point in having that button? as soon as you change the option box value it loads up the newsletter so either drop the button or drop the onchange event

Also, note that vbscript isnt that good in other browsers So i would still look for a way to get it to work in javascript. Best bet mate, look it up on javascript.com or something, google etc


it'l do for now, everyone at work (the school) uses IE6, so as long as it works for them for now, I can work on sorting it out for other browsers soon
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 22:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by PaulW
reet have uploaded the head file

also put a lil thanks in the code

cheers!

not a problem mate

 
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Need a bit of help (HTML) 22 database queries in 0.0142250 seconds