corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » How to connect?


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author How to connect?
netagra
Member

Registered: 8th Apr 02
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 13:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Dear all,
i have a Opel/Vauxhall Corsa C 1.4 (Z14XE engine) and i'm trying to find a way to connect to the ECU with a laptop in order to create an application to read indications from the ECU and the sensors. Is there a way to do it? Where is the ECU connector? Are there any products to do such a job?
Thank you
miles
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: plymouth Drives: Astra Sport
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 13:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You need specific diagnotic equipment which doesn't use a laptop.

A vaux tech 2 or similar.
Kerry
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Norwich
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 13:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thought wolf in welsh clothing had this setup or something similar??
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 13:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

There should be one or more serial output pins on the ecu. If you can find out which ones they are and are able to get the computer to understand the signals you may be able to achieve this.
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 13:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If you do tell me how
miles
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: plymouth Drives: Astra Sport
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 14:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It has to connect through the diagnostic socket.
Wolf In Welsh Clothing
Member

Registered: 31st Mar 03
Location: North Wales...... Cooper S on order
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 15:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

TRY HERE
You can buy an interface off there using pay-pal.
Ive never tried it as you used to need linux to use the software.
Ive bought a proper OBD2 connector off there though for easier fault code reading and to dissable the traction control on my Smart car.
Think you may be able to get a dos version of the software now though.
DP.
Member

Registered: 21st Dec 03
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 20:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

hmmm... interesting.. any idea what the differentl between OBD and ALDL hardware interfaces.... interesting site.. cheers for link
clarkie
Member

Registered: 24th Jun 03
Location: Nuneaton Drives:1.4 sport
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 21:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you'd be best of with a 510 diagnostic decoder. they're probably the most versitile diagnostic tool you can buy, only snag is they're probably the most expensive. they already have the odb (on board diagnostics ) plug. its so good because its compatible with nearly all types of diagnostic software, so in theory you can use it on any car, you just need the software. its also about as big as early moblie phone and needs no power scource, so u can use it any where, any time, just as long as the car's got a good battery

[Edited on 04-01-2004 by clarkie]
DP.
Member

Registered: 21st Dec 03
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 21:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

find me one with a price!! lol
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 21:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

So exactly what information can you get from the system?

Current rpm and speed?

Can you alter stuff like air/fuel ratio?

[Edited on 04-01-2004 by MikeH]
DP.
Member

Registered: 21st Dec 03
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 21:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you can only read information from the diagnostics port and not make any alterations, you need a mapable ecu to do that.
clarkie
Member

Registered: 24th Jun 03
Location: Nuneaton Drives:1.4 sport
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 21:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thats correct DP. but with the right software u can look at anything the ecu knows. eg. we use them at work (jaguar) u can look at rpm, clear fault codes, look what any sensor is reading, alter the air suspention mode (transport modae, customer mode e.t.c.) take off the 155mph limiter (the supercharged cars will do 170mph+). really, with the right soft ware the possibilitys are endless
DP.
Member

Registered: 21st Dec 03
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 22:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i wouldn't mind something that i could plug my comp in to monitor how my engines running... quite usefull id imagine
clarkie
Member

Registered: 24th Jun 03
Location: Nuneaton Drives:1.4 sport
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 22:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

like i said, with the right software u can do anything with the 510. but it hundreds of pounds. and not really worth it for the d.i.y. tuner. its aimed more at garages who will use it every day, therefor getting thier money bak
Wolf In Welsh Clothing
Member

Registered: 31st Mar 03
Location: North Wales...... Cooper S on order
User status: Offline
4th Jan 04 at 22:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ALDL is pre 97 vauxhall
OBD2 is all cars (produced in america) after 97, or in europe after 2000.
My 98 corsa sport uses OBD2.
netagra
Member

Registered: 8th Apr 02
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 10:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

So the correct port is OBD2?
Wolf In Welsh Clothing
Member

Registered: 31st Mar 03
Location: North Wales...... Cooper S on order
User status: Offline
5th Jan 04 at 19:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by netagra
So the correct port is OBD2?


On all corsa c's, yeah, obd2.

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
dvd players CorsaLad General Chat 11 778
23rd Feb 03 at 21:05
by jc-sxi
 
need abit of help asap plz mike16v Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 31 1957
26th Jun 03 at 21:52
by mike16v
 
Power Cap wireing? Savinforcorsaproject Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 30 1558
16th Sep 03 at 21:22
by Savinforcorsaproject
 
wiring my 6x9s to and amp? sunnyb Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 11 1165
16th Jan 04 at 20:50
by wainey
 
norton help Jason General Chat 9 710
28th Jan 04 at 23:06
by chewbaccaman
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » How to connect? 27 database queries in 0.0245371 seconds