corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Windows 8


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Windows 8
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
14th Mar 12 at 23:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

There are ways to do it but it wasn't built in that I know of, possibly is and I've just missed it.
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 08:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

How does that work? Do you need a media center extender plugged into the TV?
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 08:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Nope, TV just shows up on the context menu, came across it by accident.
Rob_Quads
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: southampton
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 08:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
Nope, TV just shows up on the context menu, came across it by accident.


Something must run on the TV to receive the signal like Media Center extender i.e. no different to Apple TV.

edit: turns out its just enables a DLNA server so you obviously need a TV with DLNA. My experience of DLNA has been clunky at the best.



[Edited on 15-03-2012 by Rob_Quads]
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've got serviio set up as DLNA and never had any problems, ps3 media centre was only slightly less stable.

It's all built into windows, I've not set anything at all up, just right click on a file.

That opens it up to the masses.
adiohead
Member

Registered: 28th Sep 01
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Not open to anyone without a TV that isn't connected to their router/pc.

It's nothing new, imo
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The individual components are nothing new, the delivery is, exactly the same as apple. If apple done this without buying all expensive apple equipment it would be revolutionary.

If someone buys a TV from Currys from the last couple of years, buys some medion PC with windows 8 at the same time, takes them home, connects to wireless, this will work.

No configuration, no expensive extra boxes.

It's more of a novelty for me but I don't see why the complaints about making it extremely easy for the normal user
adiohead
Member

Registered: 28th Sep 01
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Apple airplay.

Windows just takes a while to catch up
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Perfect example, I could show my dad how to use that in 2 minutes.

He hasn't bothered with any of the ways I've shown him so far because tbh, they are too complicated if you aren't interested.

If I say, right click on the film you want to watch, or the picture you want to show your mate, that's easy.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Missing the point, what do I need to get airplay working?

Airplay also isn't that amazing tbh, got more than it's fair share of problems.
adiohead
Member

Registered: 28th Sep 01
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The only new part of this is the Internet enabled TV
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It's nothing new because it's a Windows 7 feature. (I only just found out it existed though ).
adiohead
Member

Registered: 28th Sep 01
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Exactly
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

What's a digital media receiver though?
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Oh, one of these

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/windows-7/en-us/Details.aspx?type=Hardware&p=Apple%20MC572LL%2fA%20TV%20Media%20Receiver&v=Apple&uid=MC572LL%2fA&l=en-US&pf=0&pi=0&c=TV%20Devices&sc=Digital%20Media%20Receivers&os=64-bit
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It's an excellent feature on windows 7 as well then although I've never seen it before and found it in 8 pretty quickly.

How much do I have to spend to use airplay adio?

Airplay is also just current stuff repackaged, in an expensive format.
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

99 for an ATV or a lot more for an AirPlay hifi. I've only ever seen seen AirPlay on premium hifis though, you can always just plug your iPhone into your hifi and control it remotely using Bowtie - you could have your entire library on there too if you use iTunes Match.
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

(The latter would work on any iOS device ovo).
adiohead
Member

Registered: 28th Sep 01
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You will have to spend 1000000000 to use Airplay and only 1p to use Windows 8 brand new feature that isn't even new or revolutionary or worth getting your pants wet about.



Nismo
Member

Registered: 12th Sep 02
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 09:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

So apple bring out anything and it's amazing.

Windows gets a prominent, really, really simple feature, which will genuinely make it easier for people to view media but it's 'nothing new'.

Glad we cleared that up.
adiohead
Member

Registered: 28th Sep 01
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 10:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Microsoft are now amazing for making it simple for the masses.

Well done Microsoft for finally doing something you should have done in the first place.

*claps*
pow
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 11th Sep 06
User status: Offline
15th Mar 12 at 11:39   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

iTunes has to be used with airplay. Nuff said. Plus it randomly disconnects

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Computer O/S question cdcool1 Geek Day 80 3448
31st Mar 03 at 15:37
by willay
 
Steamed up Windows. VegasPhil General Chat 18 1280
30th Mar 05 at 12:31
by j1400
 
Need windows swopping over.. Scotty C Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 4 762
1st Apr 06 at 18:21
by Michael B
 
printer problems Blade_sri Geek Day 4 760
27th Jul 07 at 15:52
by Blade_sri
 
windows 7 shortcut tab Jas Geek Day 6 437
4th Mar 11 at 06:49
by Russ
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Windows 8 29 database queries in 0.0239911 seconds