corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Typical 20xe probs


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Typical 20xe probs
davcohen
Member

Registered: 1st Nov 03
Location: North London
User status: Offline
29th May 08 at 12:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

got myself an 91 Astra Gsi which runs fine but didnt idle to well, sourcing a replacement AFM at the moment but thought id clean out the ICV valve to make sure that wasnt part of the problem as its been holding a steady idle of about 1400rpm but is a little rough when trying to idle at 1000rpm

either way i replaced the CTS today as its been running rich (same time as cleaning out the ICV) now the fecker wont start

turns and turns on the starter but just wont start, after trying for 5-10 mins it tripped like maybe 3 times but wouldnt start.

took the plugs out and they stank of fuel, what could have possibly gone wrong it was running before i did the above
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
29th May 08 at 12:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

checked for spark?
JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
29th May 08 at 13:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Did you reattach the CTS plug correctly?

Check that the CTS wiring hasnt perished in the swap over.

Is it definately the correct CTS that went on?

Sounds like its just flooded now.

Try starting it with WOT
DaveB
Member

Registered: 29th Dec 00
Location: Huddersfield
User status: Offline
29th May 08 at 13:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

91 astra gsi? That'd make it a mk2 gte on a H-plate?

If it IS indeed an Astra GSi, then you need to make sure you have a BLACK CTS sensor and NOT a blue one.
JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
29th May 08 at 13:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

91 plate can be J reg also.

If your GSI has traction control you will indeed need the 2 in 1 sensor as it sends a signal to the engine ECU and another to the TC ECU



[Edited on 29-05-2008 by NotMyCorsa]

[Edited on 29-05-2008 by NotMyCorsa]
JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
29th May 08 at 14:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Black CTS part number 90510182
davcohen
Member

Registered: 1st Nov 03
Location: North London
User status: Offline
29th May 08 at 18:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by DaveB
91 astra gsi? That'd make it a mk2 gte on a H-plate?

If it IS indeed an Astra GSi, then you need to make sure you have a BLACK CTS sensor and NOT a blue one.


is that all it is, i picked up a blue one not thinking there would be a difference

so thats all it is, it needs a black one not a blue one hence why it wont start?

its an early mk3 gsi on a J-plate
JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
29th May 08 at 22:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If your car has Traction Control then that is almost certainly the issue.

I did a search on MIG and found a few people with Astra GSIs having the very same problem.
davcohen
Member

Registered: 1st Nov 03
Location: North London
User status: Offline
29th May 08 at 22:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ill be back at the parts shop first thing in the morning, really would amaze me if thats what was stopping my car from starting

JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
30th May 08 at 08:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Trust me - do a search on MIG.

I actually thought you had posted some of them the issues were so alike lol

[Edited on 30-05-2008 by NotMyCorsa]
davcohen
Member

Registered: 1st Nov 03
Location: North London
User status: Offline
30th May 08 at 10:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

wow what can i say, replaced it today with a black top cts started first time, went for a quick spin and all i can say is i must have been down 20-30bhp because of that. now it pulls like an XE should, smoothly

although even after cleaning out the ICV and dropping a bit of oil in there it still idles at 1500rpm

next i will replace the AFM and try sourcing an airbox rather then the cone thats on there at the moment.

either way what a difference replaced one or two before and never noticed a big difference like this before
JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
30th May 08 at 10:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

With regards the high idle. Does your AFM have a sealed screw cover?

davcohen
Member

Registered: 1st Nov 03
Location: North London
User status: Offline
30th May 08 at 10:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by NotMyCorsa
With regards the high idle. Does your AFM have a sealed screw cover?




No the screw is exposed, does have a cover although its obvious its been removed and replaced at some point

its the 6 pin one
JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
30th May 08 at 11:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I would try winding that back...

All i will say is make a note how much you wind it back incase you need to put it back to where it was.

I have found that altering the screw drops the idle.
DaveB
Member

Registered: 29th Dec 00
Location: Huddersfield
User status: Offline
30th May 08 at 14:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i would say NEVER EVER touch the screw. If its idling high it's more likely to be an airleak.
davcohen
Member

Registered: 1st Nov 03
Location: North London
User status: Offline
30th May 08 at 17:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by DaveB
i would say NEVER EVER touch the screw. If its idling high it's more likely to be an airleak.


when i got it the idle was around 700-900 and wasnt smooth since i first sprayed carb cleaner into the top inlet its idled at 1500 as said i have since removed the ICV and cleaned it properly and that made no difference

didnt notice any split in the pipe between the sfi box and the ICV or between the inlet and the icv

i tried removing the plug from the AFM and it didnt stall although wouldnt that have something to do with the fact its idling so high? did run like crap though when i removed it
JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
30th May 08 at 19:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by DaveB
i would say NEVER EVER touch the screw. If its idling high it's more likely to be an airleak.


Thats not always the case.

Its one of many possible things it could be.

And if i had NEVER EVER touched the screw on mine it wouldn't have EVER got through its last MOT.

davcohen
Member

Registered: 1st Nov 03
Location: North London
User status: Offline
31st May 08 at 12:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

is there a way of testing the ICV
davcohen
Member

Registered: 1st Nov 03
Location: North London
User status: Offline
4th Jun 08 at 09:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I will removed the plugs again i cleaned them last time but i really dont think its running rich, there is no smell of petrol and the economy seems to be where its at.

just wont idle as low as it should seems to be worst around 1.5-2k, as in when driving to slowing down its jerking forward but above or below that seems more or less fine
johnhara1
Member

Registered: 19th Oct 06
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
4th Jun 08 at 09:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cleaning the ICV can actually break them mate. Do you know anyone with a working one you can try?

Did you lube it back up with a squirt of WD40 before you put it back on?
davcohen
Member

Registered: 1st Nov 03
Location: North London
User status: Offline
4th Jun 08 at 09:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by johnhara1
Cleaning the ICV can actually break them mate. Do you know anyone with a working one you can try?

Did you lube it back up with a squirt of WD40 before you put it back on?


can it oppz!!

yes i removed it, cleaned it out properly with carb cleaner dried off the excess then lubed it up with some 3-1 oil as suggested
johnhara1
Member

Registered: 19th Oct 06
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
4th Jun 08 at 09:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Did you replace the gasket on it?

Bit fiddly to get to on the XE, was much easier on the ECO lumps.

JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
4th Jun 08 at 09:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by johnhara1
Cleaning the ICV can actually break them mate. Do you know anyone with a working one you can try?

Did you lube it back up with a squirt of WD40 before you put it back on?


What???

Maybe if you drop it from a height whilst cleaning it LOL

I've always successfully cleaned my ICVs....whether it be with carb cleaner or soaking in petrol over night...

I've never heard of anybody breaking an Idle Control Valve by cleaning it.

Now an AFM, well thats a different matter...
JoeyB
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 03
Location: Fareham HANTS, Drives: Astra Coupe Turbo
User status: Offline
4th Jun 08 at 09:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by johnhara1
Did you replace the gasket on it?

Bit fiddly to get to on the XE, was much easier on the ECO lumps.




Gasket on an Idle Control valve? Please do tell...

johnhara1
Member

Registered: 19th Oct 06
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
4th Jun 08 at 10:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by NotMyCorsa
quote:
Originally posted by johnhara1
Did you replace the gasket on it?

Bit fiddly to get to on the XE, was much easier on the ECO lumps.




Gasket on an Idle Control valve? Please do tell...




http://www.lmfvauxhall.co.uk/store/product.php?productid=16367&cat=1602&page=1

See that black hexagon shaped thing mate.

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Garage Clearance iceman Classifieds 5 1315
19th Jan 06 at 22:58
by lee mitchell
 
Must Go iceman Classifieds 9 1369
13th Mar 03 at 13:06
by lee mitchell
 
20XE's in Australia? Cybermonkey General Chat 2 475
1st Jul 05 at 12:01
by Cybermonkey24
 
Weekend Football/Banter Thread Incorporating all domestic leagues Aaron Sports Day 73 1038
17th Mar 08 at 22:38
by Jordinho Careca
 
XE BITS - CDX REAR - VIPER Ant Parts Offered 5 547
22nd Mar 08 at 12:05
by Ant
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Typical 20xe probs 27 database queries in 0.0300891 seconds