corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » I cant hear some people when i am on x box live


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2    3  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author I cant hear some people when i am on x box live
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 11:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Rich_J_Williams
i will give it ago anyway and see how it turns out, the modem i have only has one ethernet cable so i have to keep switching it over will this cause any problems?

how do i rest the modem, is there a reset button?



ahhh this is the problem, the xbox needs to have a fixed ethernet port i have found. if you keep swapping them it causes problems with the xbox settings.

Your best bet is to either:

Buy a Switch (www.ebuyer.co.uk)
Buy a Wireless/Wired router
Doug
Member

Registered: 8th Oct 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 11:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You can try turning UPnP on on the router. It will auotmaticly open the ports you need for when your using the xbox.
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 11:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

can i test this? so if i reset the modem and set up the internet up with the x box connected should it sort this out? i realise that it will go back to strict afterwards but i just wondered?
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 11:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Doug
You can try turning UPnP on on the router. It will auotmaticly open the ports you need for when your using the xbox.


how do i do this?

cheers
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 11:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ohhh one last thing i have realised, my dad is always turning the modem off will this be causing the setting to go funny?

should i have a constant connection?
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 11:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no i turn mine off. I just keep my xbox plugged into the same ethernet port.

topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 11:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

not all routers support UPnP
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 12:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

the only other thing i could do is plug the inter into my PC via the Usb cable and then plug my X box in via the ethernet cable?

will this cause any problems to either my internet or my x box?

cheers
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 12:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

worth ago, easy thing is to buy a new router or a 4 port switch though, only cost 15
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 13:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

whats the four port switch? somethig that replaces my router?

of which router shoud i do for?

cheers
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 13:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/35437


plug this into the router then you will have 4 spare ports for you r xbox/PC etc
Doug
Member

Registered: 8th Oct 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 14:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

What modem/router do you have?
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 14:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Rich_J_Williams
its a talk talk one, its called something slightly funny like huewie mtx882??

cant remember exactly so that could be wrong

i must have done it wrong then, i will give it ago again 2night?

would the talk talk helpline be any help?
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 15:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NETGEAR-WGT624-WG111-WIRELESS-ROUTER-USB-ADAPTOR-KIT_W0QQitemZ120100302493QQcategoryZ44997QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


will this sort me out?
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 15:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yes, very similar to mine that
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 16:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

will it just be a straight swap?? i assume i will have to install a different modem but otherwise it will be pretty much plug and play?
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 17:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you just install the new software etc then plug in xbox and play
Bram
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: Derby
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 07 at 20:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I had a nightmare getting my NAT settings to open. Did all the port forwarding, TCP and UDP. enabled UPnP but it was still playing up. This was on an XBox certified router with the latest firmware and the Xbox on a reserved IP.

In the end I just put the Xbox into the DMZ.

Hope this helps
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 07 at 08:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

whats the DMZ?
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 07 at 08:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

its outside the routers firewall so settings that may stop it working properly will not effect it.
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 07 at 09:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my plan is:

to plug the internet on my router in through the usb connection, then wire my x box in through my ethernet cable.

then reset the modem and see what happens?

my questions are?

1 - is my modem an x box approved one?
2 - will my internet on the usb be ok? van i have bothing things plugged in?
3 - when i reset the modem how do i do that? is it a case of uninstalling and reinstalling or is ther actually a reset button i can press?

cheers

rich
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 07 at 09:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

need to look in your modems documents mate, some you can hard reset etc others you reinstall.
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 07 at 09:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ok i will have a look, otherwise is the rest likely to be ok?
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 07 at 09:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

should work fine mate
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 07 at 09:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ok i will give it a try 2night and see how it goes

cheers again mate, you've helped me out no end since i have ahad broadband!!!

really appreciated

  <<  1    2    3  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Fear of dying??? -Aliba- General Chat 32 742
21st Aug 03 at 10:59
by G.C.M
 
quick question 4 corsa c owners mikey1 Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 17 552
25th Mar 04 at 11:48
by Noonster19
 
why not to drill ur air box?? corsa_lovin_it General Chat 38 1624
10th Jan 09 at 00:28
by sand-eel
 
206cc Andrew General Chat 92 1604
23rd Dec 04 at 18:19
by Peugeot Nut
 
COD3: Owners Club, MEMBERS ONLY, to clarify: NOT RYANSXI Steve Geek Day 2744 23105
22nd Mar 11 at 15:18
by Marc
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » I cant hear some people when i am on x box live 28 database queries in 0.0195010 seconds