corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » where is...


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author where is...
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
16th Apr 04 at 16:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

just read through there is a pic in my garage of where I wired mine through (BeArDy requested it so left it in my garage) but you;ve done that bit now! LOL

Does your headunit not have a remote out wire?? If not, I just hooked mine upto the live of the fagh lighter, did the job good
Mav 3000
Member

Registered: 16th Aug 01
Location: Leicestershire
User status: Offline
16th Apr 04 at 16:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I found the power cable so hard to get through the grommet (without puling the grommet through the car!) I ended up threading a bit of thin wire through the cable, loopint it back - then pulling the thin wire though, which in turn pulled the fat wire through. Nightmare!

Check your fuse on the power lead isn't blown
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
16th Apr 04 at 16:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

check that the remote line is working, by wacking a volt meter between the remote lead and ground. It should read 12v @ 500mA
Also do the same on the power to see if there is power going to the amp
AndyW
Member

Registered: 28th Oct 02
Location: Greater London
User status: Offline
16th Apr 04 at 17:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it dont work i give up!
amp can go back in the cupboard
tainboy
Member

Registered: 13th Apr 04
User status: Offline
16th Apr 04 at 17:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Don't mean to butt in, butttttttt also check you haven't got two speaker wires touching as they will automatically cut any out put (preouts and speakers) from the head unit.

What you need going to your amp are;
power from the battery (with a big bugger fuse),
remote from your head unit to tell the amp to switch on (or an ignition positive will do but not 100% good),
pre-out that carries the sound signal from the head unit to your amp (pull this down the other side of the car from all power leads to cut out interference)
and that's it (you need speaker cable going out of the amp to the sub though!!!!

Hope this helps gadge.
James@CCC
Member

Registered: 10th Nov 03
Location: Eaton Bray, Bedfordshire
User status: Offline
16th Apr 04 at 18:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ok, realise this sounds silly, but hoe well

you said you were using the standard vauxhall wires on the aftermarket headunit. The standard vauxhall wires are gay colours, and the blue wire is actually the front passenger speaker! i made this mistake ages ago when i was first playing around.

I cant remember what colour you are after, but i can find out if u need
the_legend_of_yrag
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 03
Location: Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
16th Apr 04 at 20:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

look in headunit manual and wire diagrams should tell you where to put remote wire into headunit in there
AndyW
Member

Registered: 28th Oct 02
Location: Greater London
User status: Offline
16th Apr 04 at 20:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by corser
ok, realise this sounds silly, but hoe well

you said you were using the standard vauxhall wires on the aftermarket headunit. The standard vauxhall wires are gay colours, and the blue wire is actually the front passenger speaker! i made this mistake ages ago when i was first playing around.

I cant remember what colour you are after, but i can find out if u need


yup i found this out lol after cuttin the blue wire!!

please mate if u cud find out n help would be very grateful!

everything is setup exactly how every1 else has said!
James@CCC
Member

Registered: 10th Nov 03
Location: Eaton Bray, Bedfordshire
User status: Offline
17th Apr 04 at 13:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

hmmmmmmmmmmmm, i think its the red/grey wire, but dont quote me on that. It should be the wire you cut, or should cut, to get your mfd to show you the date insted of nothing
AndyW
Member

Registered: 28th Oct 02
Location: Greater London
User status: Offline
17th Apr 04 at 17:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i really wanna know so i can get this sorted please people!
James@CCC
Member

Registered: 10th Nov 03
Location: Eaton Bray, Bedfordshire
User status: Offline
17th Apr 04 at 18:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

well you can either try the red/grey wire as i think it is, or you can get out your headunit instruction manual and work it out. Whichever pin would go towards the blue wire on the wire loom they supplied will be the remote. Then work out which colour wire this is on the vauxhall loom.

not too tircky now mate, youve done the hard parts
IntaCepta
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: Mill Hill East, Greater London
User status: Offline
17th Apr 04 at 18:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

LOL!

i was also having headaches with grommets today.

spent half an our looking for the grommet on my mates astra, then logged onto astra-sport.co.uk forum to find out there isn't one!!

instead i had to drill a hole thru.

started 1pm finished 6pm,
finally got all the cabling done,

AndyW
Member

Registered: 28th Oct 02
Location: Greater London
User status: Offline
17th Apr 04 at 18:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ill av to av another go tomoro! fuckin thing well started to piss me off tho lol

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » where is... 23 database queries in 0.0143158 seconds